Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Blade skipping when all the way down/floating

/ Blade skipping when all the way down/floating #1  

Boris1

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L5740HTSC FEL-RTVX1120 Camo-JDX540
I have used this about 4 or 5 times so far and it’s skipping and jumping when I put it in float. I usually have to raise it up and down in small increments as I go. I have played with the mounting holes up and down with no luck. I have mostly plowed with it in a straight angle. Is the blade to light maybe? IMG_0856.JPGWhat are your thoughts as I have little experience with plows?IMG_0851.JPGIMG_0852.JPGIMG_0853.JPGIMG_0854.JPGIMG_0855.JPG

/ Blade skipping when all the way down/floating #2  
Most blades have enough weight that they don’t skip off the snow and prevent good plowing.

Their are two camps when it comes to plows- those that have frozen ground all winter want more down pressure/weight and rely more on the feet when it’s soft. Those that see snow but not heavy freezing like a lighter blade that will remove snow but not dig into the ground below.
Sounds like you are on the light side right now.

/ Blade skipping when all the way down/floating #3  
Try giving your chain a little more slack, a link or two. See if that helps it.

/ Blade skipping when all the way down/floating #4  
I'm wondering if the trip edge is catching on the ground, and when it springs back that is what is making the plow to jump. I suggest making the angle shown on your gauge more obtuse-by lowering the plow push mount on the vehicle side. If you can't lower the plow mount, lower the vehicle by letting air out of the tires.

/ Blade skipping when all the way down/floating
Thanks for the thoughts, forgot to mention that I was plowing on asphalt. Mostly flat, some slight inclines but nothing drastic.

/ Blade skipping when all the way down/floating #6  
Does it make different plowing slow or fast ?..Is that standard cutting edge on the blade,seems edge leans in.