Building a Land Roller

/ Building a Land Roller #1  

WWhunter

Bronze Member
I am wanting to build a roller to smooth out some property I have so as to enable me to mow it easier without being bounced to death.
I have an 8' section of 31" diameter "oil pipeline" type pipe. This is about 3/8" or so thick so should be plenty stout. I plan on welding the same thickness caps on it. These caps will have a bung cap on each end to enable me to put water/sand/whatever inside for additional weight. I'm not an engineer of any type and am concerned with flexing of the axle if it is not strong enough.
My question is, will an inch and a half diameter shaft (for the axle) be sufficient? I as going to weld a few gussets on the axle/cap to help and then mount it with pillar block bearings on a framework.
What say you experts?

/ Building a Land Roller #2  
I am designing a winter project for a roller to drag with my BX; so interested in passing on ideas,

A lot of missing info to base an opinion on. 31" pipe will hold a lot of water per LF. Questions?
-How long will the barrel be? That will determine the weight and be an axle design factor.
-Have you considered the slosh factor? Maybe install some baffles.
-Water is easier to adjust weight if necessary than any other filler. Drain in the winter to prevent freeze up
-Lifting with the 3 Point? Another factor in axle and frame design and weight capacity of the hydraulics.
-Pulling with the draw bar? Another design factor.
-What is you tractor?

Help us help you but need to pin down the variables.

Ron

/ Building a Land Roller #3  
Hills? Flat land?

Wide one piece roller will skid around corners.

Bruce

/ Building a Land Roller #4  
not nocking your roller idea... but have you consider ripping up the entire area, with say "box blade, rear blade, disc, etc... etc.." take your pick of 3pt hitch stuff. and smooth things out? it might come down to ripping things down a few inches. and compacting the dirt as you build the area back up.