Case 590sm series 2

/ Case 590sm series 2 #1  

kuboman

Veteran Member
Tractor
B3200, L5740,
Hi there.
Anyone out there with a case tlb. I am new to case so can anyone tell me if I should be able to spin the back wheels pushing into a pile. and in what gear. It is a 2006 590 extendahoe. How do you tell the condition of clutch and torque converter. Manual tranny by the way.

/ Case 590sm series 2 #2  
My last one was a Super E.

It has a manual 4 speed gearbox behind a "power shuttle" with a torque converter. There is no conventional clutch.

If the unit is MFWD, the back tires won't spin unless the front ones do as well.

/ Case 590sm series 2

It has a manual 4 speed gearbox behind a "power shuttle" with a torque converter. There is no conventional clutch.

If the unit is MFWD, the back tires won't spin unless the front ones do as well.

Yes it is a manual 2wd There is a clutch so to speak ahead of the torque converter which is what disengages the tc so you can shift. mine will spin in 1st gear but not second and i just wonder if this is normal or should there be wheel spin in second as well.
The tc does not seem as positive as my john deere but not having ever driven Case until now I don't know if this is 'normal'.

/ Case 590sm series 2

Yes it is a manual 2wd There is a clutch so to speak ahead of the torque converter which is what disengages the tc so you can shift. mine will spin in 1st gear but not second and i just wonder if this is normal or should there be wheel spin in second as well.
The tc does not seem as positive as my john deere but not having ever driven Case until now I don't know if this is 'normal'.

/ Case 590sm series 2 #5  
Spinning in 1st gear only is probably normal. That's what the fluid drive is supposed to do.

Not to argue, but I don't think there is a mechanical clutch. Only a bypass on the TC. If it had a real clutch, you could run it into a pile of dirt and the engine would stall.