Buying Advice Case IH or Kubota

/ Case IH or Kubota #1  

Pcharles

Tractor
M-F 1080, Ford 3000
Looking at new CaseIH Farmall 70A. Not much info pro/con here. Dealer prices it at $32,500 plus. Need to handle big round bales and mow 70 acres, fairly hilly. Using 1080 Massey and old 10 Bushhog now, but the repairs (I am NOT a mechanic) are overwhelming, frustrating and expensive. Any ideas?

/ Case IH or Kubota #2  
Consider every brand within an hours driving distance to start with. They are all good machines now days.

I would like to also add that just because one person may think that any certain machine is perfect for them in no way indicates that it would be perfect for you. Some people go on about how good certain features are on a tractor and I think to myself, "I don't really like that".

Everyone likes something just a bit different than another. You really should sit on as many as you can to get a better feel for each one.

Good luck. ;)

Last edited:
   / Case IH or Kubota #3  
:welcome:
to the TBN forum Pcharies. Glad you joined.

You came to the right place as we love to spend other peoples money.

Not only go to the different dealers but test drive each model you are considering.

/ Case IH or Kubota #4  
If you shop, and you should, you will soon be overwhelmed by the number of choices. I agree with the dealer idea. Online data cannot tell you whether you are going to like the machine or not. Only seat time will do that.

You are starting with a good solid knowledge of tractors so that will help. Within a minute or so in the seat you'll know whether a tractor feels right or not.

Good luck with your search and keep us posted.

Welcome to TBN.

/ Case IH or Kubota #5  
Make sure to pick a loader that’s up for the task of moving round bales.

I look at “weight to full height at 500mm from pins” I like that to be over 1100lbs. From the looks of it the L545 loader may not be up to the task, I would make sure they quote the L555 loader on the 70A.