Changing the Backhoe Controls ISO vs SAE

/ Changing the Backhoe Controls ISO vs SAE #1  

Avenger

Veteran Member
Tractor
LS XR4145C
I did a search for this and could not find an answer. So apologies if this has been covered. If so, please point me in the right direction.

Issue: Changing the control pattern on a backhoe.

Details: I recently purchased a Woods BH90-X backhoe for my tractor. I have been using it, but since I am more familiar with one style vs what this has, I am not very good. I am looking for a way to make the controls work the way my brain is wired. I worked in construction running excavators from 2006-2009. I was used to the ISO type where the main boom up/down control is on the right hand. When I was working construction, we referred to this type as "Cat type" vs "John Deere" or "Type 1" vs "Type 2". I learned on Cat, Type 1, ISO and preferred to use that control type. Whenever I jumped into a new or different machine, there always seemed to be a way of changing from SAE to ISO and vise-versa. Sometimes even using the computer to do so, but typically it was a simple valve. Over the years since leaving the heavy equipment world behind, I have rented a few smaller excavators, and never had an issue changing the pattern.

So my brain is wired to use the ISO pattern of Swing + dipper in/out on the left hand. And bucket curl + main boom up/down on the right.

Not SAE (which apparently is more common in the US, didnt know that until I started looking into this. ISO is more common world wide.) which is Swing + Main boom up/down on the left hand. And bucket curl + dipper in/out on the right.

The dipper and boom switch hands.