Dirt Moving Clearing a dirt pile in the cold

/ Clearing a dirt pile in the cold #1  

ruralwarrior

Tractor
Kubota BX23S
I have a Kubota BX23S. I'm still a relative newbie, have had my SCT for a couple of years but certainly not an expert.

My neighbor asked me for a favor. He had a couple of dirt piles delivered and wanted me to move them. We live in Canada and it is still pretty cold here even end of March.

I told him I'd probably damage his lawn but he wanted me to try anyways. I did - dirt pile was frozen and the wheels just spin trying to dig the loader into the dirt.

He's a good neighbor and has helped me out a few times so I'm disappointed I could not help him more.

I would always wait until early May to have anything delivered... not sure why he had the dirt delivered so early but he did.

What consistent temperature would I need to be more successful? I'd like to give it another try but obviously the temperature needs to be consistently higher so the dirt becomes much softer.

Appreciate your comments. Thanks.

/ Clearing a dirt pile in the cold #2  
Do you have a tooth bar? Or just a straight bolt on cutting edge?

/ Clearing a dirt pile in the cold
No tooth bar. Standard bucket that came with the loader.

/ Clearing a dirt pile in the cold #4  
How did you approach the pile?

Hopefully not from the bottom, hoping for a full bucket... smaller 'bites' from the top and sides wok best until the size of the mound is reduced.

There are youtube videos available.

/ Clearing a dirt pile in the cold #5  
The temperature you need is called end of April

/ Clearing a dirt pile in the cold #6