Company Owners, how do you like sales reps to approach you?

/ Company Owners, how do you like sales reps to approach you? #1  

ShowroomShine

Gold Member
Tractor
2019 Case IH 55A
I've been a municipal accounts manager for a heavy equipment company for over a year, no prior sales experience. I've become pretty successful in my position, and the company is now adding a territory on top of my municipal accounts for me to manage for private sales. So now I'll be calling on local guys with construction companies.

I've become accustomed to the ways of getting into a municipality and making friends, but I feel that at the private level it will be a different game. I dont want to just drive up to a guys front door and give him a sales schpeel, I feel that is just white noise that will get lost in his 1000's of other things going on.

Question is, if you own a construction company that buys equipment, how do you like (or dont like) to be approached by sales reps? What have some reps done in the past that worked, what have they done that does not work. Any tips to not get my card thrown away or swept under a rug?

/ Company Owners, how do you like sales reps to approach you? #2  
I have been a contractor of sorts for the past ten years. I can't think of one time I have bought anything from someone approaching or calling me. When I need something I go find it and get it. I don't see how someone could talk me into buying something I didn't need in the first place. I think the key would be making sure everyone knows you are out there and what you have to offer. Often when I buy things I need them NOW and it isn't always the best deal that I go with it is who I can find that has what I need right then.

Business is a lot different than personal because most businesses are losing money when they need something and time is the biggest factor. Most businesses don't have the luxury of waiting around to get things.

/ Company Owners, how do you like sales reps to approach you? #3