Determing MPH

/ Determing MPH #1  

dcsobob

Tractor
Mahindra 3016
Good afternoon!

Tractor newbie here. Pretty much anything-on-the-farm newbie. I have finally manage to purchase a tractor and I am now entering the lovely world of determining how to properly spray my pastures.

In reading all the instructions on herbicides, fertilizer, etc, i see where sprayer calibration is important. One of the first things I need to determine, and can't, is how fast i'm going in MPH. My tractor (Mahindra 3016 Gear driven) does not have a MPH readout, just RPM. In the manual for hte tractor it gives me a MPH reading for each gear, but fails to tell me what the engine RPM needs to be set at to obtain that speed. so short of staking out a distance on the ground and driving/timing it, is there any trick to determining how fast in MPH i'm going so I can calibrate for my spraying?

Thanks

/ Determing MPH #2  
Have you tried a GPS? Your phone or tablet will probably give you a speed reading, too. Calculating it will only get you close (tire size variations, etc.)

Most recent tractors have a mark on the tach to indicate the RPM to hold so the PTO is turning 540 RPM. I would bet your manual uses that same RPM for its MPH calculations. Just a guess, though, and only applies if your tach has that mark.

/ Determing MPH #3  
ditto a cell phone, or a cheap GPS / map finder unit. the device may not know were you are going and wondering HUH? but it should give out a MPH.

/ Determing MPH #4  
err sctach that, now that i think about it, tire pressure shouldn't matter. just amount of tread on the tire.

/ Determing MPH #5  
Got a friend with a 4 wheeler (quad) that has a speedo? Have him follow you and when you signal him , have him note the speed

/ Determing MPH #6  
Have also heard of using a digital bicycle speedo with magnetic pickup, but not all have tire size calibrations that would work for a tractor wheel or drive shaft.

David Kb7uns

/ Determing MPH #7