3-Point Hitch Draft Control Not Working Properly on Kubota M9540

/ Draft Control Not Working Properly on Kubota M9540 #1  

garydstuart

Tractor
kubota m9540
Let me say upfront, I'm new to tractors/farming/tillage...bought some land and have built a Motocross track for my son and I to practice on here in TN. I bought a new tractor (Kubota M9540) last summer and after much research (and having the Kubota dealer take it back to his shop for inspection), I do not believe the draft control is working properly. As I understand it, the draft control helps maintain the appropriate workload on the tractor by lifting ground engaging implements (e.g. chisel plow...in my case) when the elevation changes and/or the implement encounters harder/softer soil - basically, saving the tractor from loss of horsepower or wheel spin.

I've read where there are 2 types - lower link and top link controlled...I've tried mine both ways (top link on the tractor mount and bottom (hole) link (of the 3 potential slots)...neither works.

Any help / advise would be GREATLY appreciated. My local dealer hasn't helped and after contacting Kubota directly, they referred me to my local dealer :(. VERY frustrating...

/ Draft Control Not Working Properly on Kubota M9540 #2  
Have you tried adjusting the draft control lever, you can set it to different levels of sensitivity or reaction. I haven't used the one on our M8540 yet, but used them on our other tractors and you need to find the right setting for what you are doing.

/ Draft Control Not Working Properly on Kubota M9540
I have tried it all the way up and all the way down...and at all points in between...doesn't seem to work regardless of where I set it. Is there another adjustment somewhere?

Thanks for the quick response!

/ Draft Control Not Working Properly on Kubota M9540 #4  
There is an adjustment rod on the left side of the top link attachment point. But it shouldn't need adjustment.

To test the draft control:
>take off any implement