Dual Voltage MIG Welders (Everlast?

/ Dual Voltage MIG Welders (Everlast? #1  

Luke'sScreenName

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota MX4800 with BH-90X hoe; Hustler FastTrack 48; B3300SU (sold); 1969 Case 680B CK (sold)
So I want to upgrade my Hobart 140 to a new (sub $1000) 220V machine. I find that too frequently I am pushing or exceeding the capabilities of it. I'm mostly welding farm equipment.

I am considering a dual voltage unit... Is there any disadvantage to these?

Given the praise on TBN I looked at the Everlast site. I was intrigued by the multi function machines. I am a novice MIG welder but might also like to try out stick welding. Everlast makes two units; the Power i-MIG 200 and the PowerMTS 200. Is there a disadvantage to these combo units? Is there any difference between theses machines other than the MTS is TIG capable?

Thanks in advance!

/ Dual Voltage MIG Welders (Everlast? #2  
I got to play with member here roadhunter's Everlast i-MIG 140E. It is a 120-volt only machine. It was pretty impressive for a 120-volt welder. The dual voltage is the way to go, if you have to weld 3/8-inch of thicker material you can plug into 220-volt.

/ Dual Voltage MIG Welders (Everlast? #3  
I have the I MIG 200. I don't know if there are disadvantages, but there are advantages. I power it with 220 volts at home in the shop and usually run MIG. But I ran out shielding gas so I switched to stick.

Then I took it to the cabin and ran it on 110v.

This unit can also weld aluminum with an optional torch.

/ Dual Voltage MIG Welders (Everlast? #4  
You could also get a used Miller Passport for under $1000. Very good dual voltage and portable machine. It has been replaced by the Millermatic 200 but that costs closer to $2K.

/ Dual Voltage MIG Welders (Everlast? #5