End of season strategy for gravel surfaces?

/ End of season strategy for gravel surfaces? #1  

SuperiorLakeEffect

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota L3901
We seem to be on our way towards spring here with some warmish weather and snow melt, but it still wouldn't be unreasonable to have another 2 months of snow either.

Wondering how everybody approaches the changeover to spring conditions.

I typically like to build up a nice solid mat of snow- a couple inches thick. But this is my first year full time at the new place, so that strategy might not work. With a long driveway, powering through several inches of hard packed slush with the car might be a challenge.

The last couple weeks, I've taken towards scraping down the mat some by raising the skids on the blower. By the end of last week, the sun had melted enough of the mat away to open up a couple small patches of gravel. So of course we got ~6 inches of snow yesterday requiring the blower.

Out come the big skid shoes, raised up high for early season conditions. Ground was pretty frozen so I didn't tear things up at all.

So how do you approach the end of season? Hang on to your mat as long as possible? Keep is scraped down as much as you can? Something else?

/ End of season strategy for gravel surfaces? #2  
That is a good question. I tend to scrape some mat off, or let it melt off like this past week. (But last nights rain and temp dropping below freezing does not help break it up.) Once the mat gets tough to drive through, I have used a chain harrow to try and break it up some more. Better than that is using the small disc I have. Doesn't always break up the summer ground here, but on the 1500ft drive it works breaking up the ice. Most of the drive where I use the disc is in the woods.

Maybe Arly will offer his suggestions. Jon

/ End of season strategy for gravel surfaces? #3