Energy Monitor - Power Factor?

/ Energy Monitor - Power Factor? #1  

jk96

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L6060
I've set up an energy monitor for our house and I'm currently monitoring the following

Whole house
Hot Water Heater North
Hot Water Heater South
Geothermal HVAC North
Geothermal HVAC South

I've found that my usage since install on my monitor has been higher than my usage on my electric bill. After doing some research I'm guessing the reason is that I have the power factor adjustment set to 1. I'm assuming my hot water heaters would be close to 1 but not sure how to figure or get a an idea of the power factor for my geo units? Anyone have any insight on this?

/ Energy Monitor - Power Factor? #2  
Been a while since I studied that sort of thing, but I'll get the conversation started. It's oversimplified and there are things to consider that I'm missing.

If your system has inputs for each of the WH's and HVAC systems and then lumps them plus everything not mentioned as a total load or whole house, it will lack some accuracy. There must be other loads in the house and some that aren't quite at a unity power factor, and to what extent they can be ignored depends on how much accuracy matters to you and how much effort you want to put forth.

Sounds like you already know the power company only bills you for KW and not KVA.

I'd suggest you subtract the power company's KW from your whole house KVA and assume the difference is due to the motors used for HVAC. You list two HVAC systems so you can track them individually. You can calculate percentage of power (KW) each uses. Then take those KW values and subtract them from the KVA you have recorded.