Feeding round bales

/ Feeding round bales #1  

tungularafishcamp

Veteran Member
Tractor
kubota L2800, 1/2 of a L48
We have a small family farm with a couple dozen cattle. A neighbor has done our haying for 40 years with small square bales for 1/2 the hay. This year we won't have enough so we have to buy some and were thinking on trying round bales. Found a good deal on 800 lb bales trouble is they are 2x what we feed in hay a day.

Any tips on splitting round bales?

Roll out half n put the rest back?

Put the bale out whole n let them eat on it for 2 days?

Between the grapple n the forks I assume I can handle them easily enough.

As you can tell by all the questions I am a fisherman not a farmer;)

/ Feeding round bales #2  
For a couple dozen cattle, they'll go through an 800 lb bale in less than a day. Even faster if you don't have a ring or some type of feeder. But to your question, there's no reason to limit them to one days worth of feed unless you're trying to conserve hay. Most larger ranches roll out the bales. In time you figure out exactly how much to roll out to prevent the hay from become the bathroom and bed by the next day. I'm feeding 13 right now, and I feed two 5x5 bales at a time, in rings. It'll last them a few days, then I make them pick the last day.

/ Feeding round bales #3  
Get a couple hay rings so they don't waste as much, and put 2 out at a time with that many cows, that way they all can eat. You will be putting 2 out every 3-4 days.

/ Feeding round bales #4  
We have a small family farm with a couple dozen cattle. A neighbor has done our haying for 40 years with small square bales for 1/2 the hay. This year we won't have enough so we have to buy some and were thinking on trying round bales. Found a good deal on 800 lb bales trouble is they are 2x what we feed in hay a day.

Any tips on splitting round bales?

Roll out half n put the rest back?

Put the bale out whole n let them eat on it for 2 days?