FIrst time tractor buyer ... 1920 ??????

/ FIrst time tractor buyer ... 1920 ?????? #1  

xtal01

Tractor
none
OK, I know nothing at all about tractors!

I have been building a house for 5 years and how have a bunch of yard work to do (landscaping, drainage ditch, driveway, ...).

On top of this, it takes me 5 hours to mow the lawn with my little cub cadet (law tractor 22 hp, 54" cut).

I want a tractor that "does it all" ... 4 x 4, so I need a bucket, back hoe and finish mower ... maybe even a auger and forks.

I found a 50 hp for a good price but my neighbor pointed out that an 8000 lb tractor will just leave ruts in my very moist lawn (I live on the edge of a river / wet land).

I just found two tractors that interest me. First is a Chinese made Farm Pro 2425 with a bucket and backhoe ... 2005 ... $8500 ... 2000 hours ... AG tires. 3000 lbs. Still might leave ruts .... but might not ???

Maybe someone could comment on this one.

The other one ... and why I am here ... is a 1994 (maybe 96 ... owner doesn't know) New Holland 1920. It has a bucket and backhoe. Just under 700 hours. New front tires. Decent rear turf saver tires. New clutch, cleaned / rebuilt injector pump. I was told by the seller it sat for two years after the last owner died. The seller is a retired mechanic. He bought it, cleaned it up, fixed what needed fixing (I think he said he also put in a front axle seal) ... and now it is up for sale.

It started at $12,500 ... then $12,000 ... now $11,500

So, is this a good price ... too much .... good tractor model .... problem model .... ???????????

Any advice would be greatly appreciated !!!!!!!!!!

Mike .... Vermont

01.jpg

/ FIrst time tractor buyer ... 1920 ?????? #2  
That's a nice tractor, however there's a couple things to consider.

1. Are you handy mechanically or have a good shop that is? Stuff does eventually break and knowing how to fix it helps a ton here.