Flail Mower Advice

/ Flail Mower Advice #1  

sfabern

Tractor
Kubota B 3300
I operate a five foot New Holland 918L flail with a 2011 Kubota B3300 (33 engine Hp), I mow a 5 acre field with various pasture grasses. Unfortunately, it does not cut some of the tall (2-3 ft) grasses well, essentially rolling them under and then they pop up. Even a second pass will not always get them. I'm no expert, but I think it is orchard grass, with its tough stem, that is the main culprit. I tried sharpening the knives this past winter (about 200 knives, I think), but no improvement. I am operating the tractor as sufficiently slow speeds in the heavy going, and the mower does not operate under strain at the slow speeds in these heavy patches. So what I am beginning to think is that this mower is just a finishing mower for light grasses and lawns. Am I correct? Is the HP of my Kubota a factor (I wouldn't have thought so for this light flail)?

Is a medium flail the answer? I don't need to cut brush, just pasture grasses. I'd like to get a 73" model and am wondering if the 33 HP is sufficient? I am aware that Caroni makes one that they recommend for 30 to 60 HP, but I don't know if that is the power at the PTO or the engine, and I don't like to have a tractor at the low end of the range. Any ideas about my problem and suggestions for an appropriate flail will be much appreciated.

Sam

/ Flail Mower Advice #2  
Welcome to the forum!

:welcome:

That does seem like a problem. I'm going to move your thread on over to somewhere it is more likely to be seen. Hopefully someone will come along with an answer.

/ Flail Mower Advice #3  
Sam,