Horse run in ideas

/ Horse run in ideas #1  

56FordGuy

Gold Member
Alright y'all, I'm looking for some input. I'm getting ready to build a 12x24, three sided shelter for the horses. The plan is to use 6, 6x6" posts with a sloped roof that's about 11' at the opening down to 10' at the back. I plan on doing metal roofing for the roof and possibly the sides, with some 2x lumber for the bottom 4' or so of the insides for a kick board.

What size rafters and headers would y'all recommend using? Since the rafters will be single boards running from one end to the other, I was thinking about using 14' 2x6s on 18" centers. Is that spacing about right to install corrugated metal on, or do I need to move them in to 16"? Basically I just want to build a three sided pole barn. It seems simple enough, I just want to make sure I'm not overlooking something since I've never done this before.

Thanks!

/ Horse run in ideas #2  
I think you will need to move up to 2X8 @ 16" centers to carry the load. You have only 1' slope in 12' = 1 in 12 pitch, virtually flat. With that small pitch you can not figure in any reasonble amount of snow slide. Granted we don't get a lot of snow in TN, but what comes is usually wet & heavy. Different load bearing calculators I've found on the web all come up with same results, 2" X 8" on 16" centers.

/ Horse run in ideas #3  
It sounds like you have a good plan to build your run just make sure you face the back of the stall to the north so that in the winter your horse stay a little warmer i have built two of these runs and am fixing to build two more just the way you are fixing to do

/ Horse run in ideas #4