How I think through an add-a-hydraulic-circuit project.

/ How I think through an add-a-hydraulic-circuit project. #1  

jgrreed

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD 4720
Hi Everyone,

I have some time to kill, and I remember very clearly just how intimidating the hydraulic/valve/switch world was when I started planning my project almost 2 years ago.

I'm not an expert, and there certainly are experts on here, so please chime in and make suggestions or corrections on this 'decision tree'. I'll edit this first post as suggestions are made.

Big thanks to all of you who have patiently nursed me to this level of knowledge. You know who you are!!! I owe you a Corona. :licking:

ABOVE ALL ELSE, REMEMBER THIS: HYDRAULICS ARE NOT TO BE MESSED WITH!!! (please don't censor that, it's important) THEY WILL MAIM YOU, OR IF YOU'RE REALLY HAVING A BAD DAY, KILL YOU. SEEK HELP. HIRE A SHOP IF NEED BE.

I think you can all imagine what your head looks like after a circuit fails while lifting a 2000lb item, and said item gives your knoggin' a lovetap. I doubt many of you know what an 'high pressure injection injury' is, but I do, and I've seen it, and it'll ruin your livelihood, and life.

First, you need to set out your goals. What are you trying to do??

Add some circuits for hyd cylinders? Are they double acting or single acting?

Add some for Hyd motors? Do you want them to be reversible? Are they to spin at 1000rpm like a weed wacker, or at 1rpm for a blower chute rotator?

If motors are in your thoughts, what flow and pressure does your tractor provide?? Most CUT hydro systems don't offer enough flow and pressure to do much of anything. You can run the custom weed wacker described on here, but a snowblower is out of the question, as is a broom, or a post hole digger. If you don't have enough flow &/or pressure, you'll need to power your system from a PTO driven pump, build a reservoir, plumb large bore lines, etc. $$$

How many new circuits? Front or back or your tractor?.. or both??