How many acres necessary to make it worthwhile to do your own haying?

/ How many acres necessary to make it worthwhile to do your own haying? #1  

Dadnatron

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD 5100e with FEL
This is my first year with hay in KY. I have a guy with a 組ood reputation in the area, however I have been very disappointed.

I have 20ac alfalfa/Orchard mix and 10ac Timothy. Also have about 50 more ac of pasture Orchard/KBG mix that needs to be either mowed or cut for hay.

I壇 much rather have someone do the work and split the results, however, the guy I have doing it now has let the alfalfa go to about 80-90% bloom for the first two cuttings. He is a nice guy when I catch him 1:1 but he doesn稚 return calls or texts.

I don稚 like the quality of the hay at that late bloom quality and I really don稚 like the lack of communication. He left several rounds on the ground and they killed the grass underneath. He ran over 2wk growth when picking hay out of the field creating a 喪oad where he drove. He could have removed them just after baling and the field would have been fine. Waiting like he did, there Inow have a long dead 喪oad where the regrow this dies. This road and bale dead spots will now just be weed locations that I will have to fight.

I can likely find another person to do the work, but I知 wondering where the likely reasonable point is, for purchasing equipment for small squares. I already have 100hp tractor but no haying equipment. I suspect I壇 need a mock, Tedder, rake, Baler, and accumulator. I have a hay wagon and wouldn稚 need a bale grapple for loading/unloading.

I think that my guy feels that the farm isn稚 as good of a deal since it isn稚 in his normal farming area. But he says 兎verything is fine. But he doesn稚 act like it I said so. I have a need for hay for 7 horses on my property which would only be about 25% of my farm production.

/ How many acres necessary to make it worthwhile to do your own haying? #2