How to replace gatepost?

/ How to replace gatepost? #1  

lopezian

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota/L3400
Earlier this year I caught a gatepost on my deer fence with my FEL. The 4 inch treated post cracked about 4 inches above the ground.

Can anyone tell me a good way to remove this post so I can replace it?

The post is set in about 80 pounds of concrete. Because it snapped close to the ground, and the concrete comes up to ground level, there is not much good wood to get a chain around.

If I just dig out the post and base with the backhoe I will have a very big hole to fill, and I'm afraid the disturbed soil won't hold a new post well. Should I be concerned about that?

If I do end up with a large hole I could put some large rocks at the bottom on either side of the new post to help keep it upright.

Any experience with this sort of thing would be welcome.

/ How to replace gatepost? #3  
Boy do I have a LOT of experience here! Our wood fence originally had cedar posts. MISTAKE! They are 20 yrs old now and are rotting off.

First, there isn't an easy way to do it (I don't have a backhoe, so can't speak to that approach). I have two approaches:

One, dig around the top of the concrete about 6" deep to wrap a short 1/4" chain around it and secure it. Secure the other end over a handyman jack, sitting on a metal plate to disperse the load. Jack like crazy. Re-attach the chain as it comes off. Cuss. Repeat as necessary until the post/concrete is out.

Two, dig around the concrete down about 12". Angle your hole back so it's about 12" back from the concrete. Get a BIG prybar and a 4x4 chunk. My prybar is 1 1/2" steel shaft about 6 feet long. I'm talkin' BIG!