Hydraulic question for post driver

/ Hydraulic question for post driver #1  

almost canadian

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota L4600
Hi all.

As you will note from previous posts, while I have had a tractor for some years, I have no real mechanical knowledge at all!

I have a Kubota L4600 and I am looking to purchase a Shaver HD 8 post driver. I note that it comes with hoses but no couplers and that I need to determine whether I need a "plug package for tractors with closed center hydraulics." From what I have been able to determine, my tractor has an "open center gear pump." None of this means anything to me at all!

I have two hose attachments at the rear of my tractor, one of which is a detent.

I have never used any of the hose attachments and I am at work at the moment. From memory, the hose attachments look like those one would expect to see on a compressed air compressor.

In light of the above, can anyone please tell me what couplers I will need and whether I will need to purchase the plug package?

If anyone would like to provide me with any other pointers too, that would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks.

Last edited:
   / Hydraulic question for post driver #2  
You do not need the closed center plug kit. You will need to have one male tip to match the remote coupler and will need to have whatever fittings you need to connect the return hose to the hydraulic fill port or other zero pressure return port. The use of quick couplers in the return line is discouraged. The folks at Shaver can help if your Shaver dealer cannot or will not.

/ Hydraulic question for post driver
You do not need the closed center plug kit. You will need to have one male tip to match the remote coupler and will need to have whatever fittings you need to connect the return hose to the hydraulic fill port or other zero pressure return port. The use of quick couplers in the return line is discouraged. The folks at Shaver can help if your Shaver dealer cannot or will not.