I suck at using a grapple

/ I suck at using a grapple #1  

plowhog

Elite Member
Tractor
Massey 1710 / 1758, Ventrac 4500Y / TD9
I have a Massey 1758 cab tractor, with HLA grapple.

My old demolished deck has been on a side hill for months, and I finally got a 30 yard dumpster so I could dispose of it. I foolishly thought I could approach the rotted lumber pile from the downslope side, coming up, and "Grab" a pile of demolished lumber to cart over to the dumpster. Epic fail.

Each grab, I would close the clamshell and things would push out. As I raised the grapple more would fall out. As I backed up more would fall out. If I tried to go forward for another bite, I risked running over a 2x6 with exposed nails and puncturing a tire. Once in a while it worked great, most times not.

I did find I could get near the pile, get out of the cab, manually throw all kinds of stuff onto the grapple, then get in, close the clamshell, and go dump. That worked really well.

Maybe I'm a novice (for sure) or maybe my root grapple is the wrong one. But I have a real hard time "grabbing" things on the ground such as in a disorganized lumber pile. And my HLA grapple seems really heavy on the end of my loader arms. Anything but gentle maneuvers rocks the tractor, which is probably not good.

I will say that some of the old deck pieces were intact with many nailed together boards and very heavy. I could grab those big pieces with no problem, and compared to handling them manually that was wonderful.

/ I suck at using a grapple #2  
Pallet forks might work better. Are your rear tires filled?

I have found so far that jobs that I pictured in my mind as easy and simple, in fact, took quite a bit of practice. :)

/ I suck at using a grapple #3  
Grabbing a mangled pile lumber is nearly impossible. It either needs to be a pretty solid chunk or mostly facing the same direction.

/ I suck at using a grapple #4  
Although I can't give advice regarding 'grappling skills', I can say that...