I'm a Johnson Grass Farmer

/ I'm a Johnson Grass Farmer #1  

Alan L.

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B2710
I\'m a Johnson Grass Farmer

I was going to do it right this time. I sprayed roundup on the 3 acres. Twice. Bought a tiller and tilled it up after everything was dead. Waited 3 weeks and tilled it again. No sign of vegetation of any kind, so I planted common bermuda.

That was about May 1st. We haven't had much rain, but I now have the best patch of johnson grass I have ever seen. The grass is 2 feet tall and covers about 1/3 to 1/2 of the 3 acres in patches. There is also some bermuda and some other kind of grass coming in low, mostly where the johnson grass is not.

On one hand, the johnson grass is shading the little bermuda so a lot of it can't get any sun. But if I brush hog the johnson grass, it will be laying on top of the bermuda.

What to do. What to do??

/ I'm a Johnson Grass Farmer #2  
Re: I\'m a Johnson Grass Farmer

Alan, I have used MSMA (monosodium methylarsonate). It's a crab grass killer I bought at the home center. Got it to rid Dallisgrass from my Bermuda. I don't recal it saying it would kill Johnson grass but I have had good luck with it doing so. Mixed according to the instructions it does not effect Bermuda. It might be cost prohibitive on as much Johnson grass as you have. Just my 2 cents worth.

James

/ I'm a Johnson Grass Farmer #3  

Alan, I'll probably never forget fighting Johnson Grass when I was a kid. We cut it with a yo-yo, chopped on it with hoes, and even tried digging the roots out. In later life, I read somewhere that Johnson Grass roots have been found as deep as 30', but don't know whether that is true or not. But I did finally learn that it's easy to kill out if you simply keep it mowed short. Of course, that means frequent mowing for one or two seasons.

/ I'm a Johnson Grass Farmer