Installing a Step for GC 17XX GC 26xx

Status
Not open for further replies.
   / Installing a Step for GC 17XX GC 26xx #51  
@GeneV, if I understood you correctly, you bought a quick change, were unhappy with it, returned it and got a refund?

I’m curious as to how the CS sucked? (Legitimately asking for detail)
Ok, well if you wanna know with all the detail...

Look, first I wanna give him some props here, both his step and skid plate seem legit. If I was in the market for a skid plate (and didn't already have my customer experience with him), I'd buy his plate. Seems like a pretty good product.

But, his backhoe q/c bracket he sent me was just terribly made. He had everything welded up at angles, it wasn't square. Evidently he got heat shrinkage when doing one side of the plate, and rather than pounding it out to square before welding the other side, he just ran a bead on the other side as is. It just look amateurish. I'm a terrible welder, but even I would be more careful make sure everything was properly tacked up and square before running full beads.

So, pretty ugly to begin with, but then it also didn't fit my backhoe bucket, I couldn't mount it with both pins. The "custom" he's referring to is, I was wanting the bracket to have both ends closed off instead of having one open end. The reason for that is I wanted to use the bracket to quickly flip my hoe bucket around to face outward (I had an application requiring me to have that function). I didn't want a weak spot where the open ends would be, as the most force would be applied there when using the bucket when it's flipped around facing outwards.