Insulating Floor

/ Insulating Floor #1  

KennyG

Elite Member
Tractor
John Deere 2320
I just volunteered to help with a project, insulating a floor. I haven't actually seen it yet, but I understand it is a typical joist construction over a crawl space. A family room add on that wasn't insulated when it was built. I've never done this before, but I understand we should have a good vapor barrier down on the ground. It seems to me that we should use unfaced insulation, and not have a vapor barrier under the insulation. Is that correct? Any ideas on the easiest way to hold the insulation in place?

/ Insulating Floor #2  
In my house, they used faced insulation batts with the paper up against the underside of the floor (so you see the raw fiberglass from the crawl space). Wire insulation supports were used to hold the batts in place. There is a heavy plastic sheet on the dirt floor of the crawl space.

/ Insulating Floor #4  
Those are separate matters. You do need a heavy dark plastic for ground cover. Several important reasons but to keep any moisture to the ground and not being absorbed above. Next, insulation can be done a number of ways with or without facing paper bit needs to be secured to perform its intended purpose. Often times it doesn't have any facing so a type of support is used from wire to string to plastic holders. Hope that helps.

/ Insulating Floor #5  
I used small nails and wire.did a 12x12 room.
what a pain!
I eventually put 2 layers of 2" styrofoam (4" total) around the inside perimeter of our entire crawl space.
That made a huge difference.
crawl space is warm and floors are warm.
it may be easier to try the walls of the crawl space ?

/ Insulating Floor #6  
I have heard of people using heavy chicken wire fence,not had any expierance with it myself. Dont know how long it would last. I had thought about doing it to my rent house,but have mixed emotions about it. Mostly concerned with moisture. LUTT

/ Insulating Floor #7