JD2010 dies when temp hits "normal"

/ JD2010 dies when temp hits "normal" #1  

npartsch

Tractor
1964 JD Model 2010
My 1964 JD 2010 starts right up but doesn't like to run. Whether idling or moving, it will just quit after around 20 minutes of running, or about the time the temperature gauge hits "normal", and will restart after sitting for maybe up to 10 minutes. I've had a rebuilt carburetor put on, checked the fuel lines, put a new coil in, and still dies as if someone turned the key off. I am not a mechanic and it's a flat $125 to haul it into the dealer to look at, but if I can get a handle on what to look for, it will take the professionals less time to trouble shoot. I have two left hands, have never been able to even set points properly, and am not sure what else to look at. Is this a rather common problem?

/ JD2010 dies when temp hits "normal" #2  
Disconnect your fuel line as near to the tank as you can. Put a container under the hose. See if fuel continues to flow freely after a couple of minutes. If fuel flow trickled down or stops you've found your problem.

/ JD2010 dies when temp hits "normal"
did that, also. checked the gas at the carb once it died. I also switched gas when the carb was installed by the dealer.

/ JD2010 dies when temp hits "normal" #4  
It could be electrical (ignition). I've had coils go dead after heating up. After it dies, immediately check to see if you're getting spark. If you've eliminated fuel starvation, it's gotta be ignition.

Also check to see if there's a resistor in the coil circuit. The resistors can go "open" when hot. They are typically wire wound over a core and covered with ceramic. Newer versions can be resistor wire which can also break connection when hot.