john deere 24t baler

/ john deere 24t baler #1  

haymow

Tractor
m f 135
i live in new zealand, recently bought an australian assembled john deere 24 t baler sold new jan 1969 good order, apon inspection by removing small plate on top gearbox i find tooth galling on first input gears, certainly usable, is this often found? also plunger noisy and shudders when turning corners,i am a mechanic and drive line and drawbar set properly, have checked this, any thoughts ideas gratefully sought:)

/ john deere 24t baler #2  
:welcome: to TBN
I can't comment on gear galling. Is drawbar set at 14'' to center of hole from end of pto shaft? Since 24T was built before JD's introduction of the "equal angle hitch" or CV joints the pto driveline will tend to vibrate in sharp turns. Have you checked for excessive clearance between plunger head & PH guides?

/ john deere 24t baler #3  
While I dont have one I looked into the model for my small compact tractor. They are well made and easy to survice. Your plunger either needs bearings, or rails or both and adjustment. The JD service manual is excellent, so I would get one. Not sure what the difference a down under model would be from a US one, but it cant be that different. The good thing is back then a lot of things were standard like bearing sizes etc.

BTW how are the knives and knotters? You should be able to repair, but if not is there a baler bloke than can help? I have a repair man that is mobile I can call for issues - cheaper than hauling it in. I can do my own service, but I am not spanner inclined.

Hope this helps

/ john deere 24t baler #4  
powerscol;4358143 Your plunger either needs bearings said:
JD 24T only has wear pads on PH but no brgs. I agree a SM is a good asset.

/ john deere 24t baler
JD 24T only has wear pads on PH but no brgs. I agree a SM is a good asset.