Just got another excellent older Lincoln welder, and a recommendation.

/ Just got another excellent older Lincoln welder, and a recommendation. #1  

etpm

Veteran Member
Tractor
yanmar ym2310
I have an embarrassment of welding machines. Yesterday an old friend gave me a welder he hasn't used for over 5 years and he knew I would use it. The machine in question is a Lincoln SP-100. I already had the SP-125 Plus machine. As near as I can tell the machines are identical. I took the SP-100 cover off today to check for insect nests and the like and the guts look just like my SP-125 Plus machine.
I bought my SP-125 Plus machine about 20 years ago. It was used. In an auto body shop. About a year after I bought it I took it apart because I wanted to add a purge button so I could have shielding gas instead of air in the whip when I started welding. That's when I discovered its previous life in an auto body shop because of all the Bondo dust inside.
Adding a purge button to control the gas solenoid turned out to be not as easy as anticipated because I wanted the purge button to control low voltage and the gas solenoid requires 120 volts. So I had to figure out what the circuit board inside the machine was doing to control the gas solenoid because low voltage was being used to switch the 120 volts going to the gas solenoid. Anyway, I figured out what was going on and added a push button into the circuit and ever since I have had a purge button on the panel of my SP-125 Plus.
So today I opened up the welder my friend gave me so I could clean out any wasp nests and other similar insults to welding machines and the interior looks identical to my newer SP-125 Plus machine. The circuit board that I modified in the 125 machine appears from memory identical to the SP-100 machine circuit board. All the other interior stuff also looks the same. I suspect Lincoln just changed the exterior knobs, because they are slightly different, and came up with a new model number.