L3901 vs. MX4800 Advice Please

/ L3901 vs. MX4800 Advice Please #1  

Bubblehead751

Tractor
John Deere 318
Advice Please.

I have to ask. How is getting in and out of the L3901?

My wife and I found it really awkward getting in and out of the gear drive L3901. Is that something we'll get used too or am I going to feel like I'm going to fall every time. We found it much easier to get in and out of the L4701. We are considering the L4701 or MX4800 just for the larger cockpit with the bonus of having better mowing capability.

I'm new to all of this land and tractor stuff. I bought 42 acres that is about 5-10 wetland, 10 field of varying grade, 2 of home/grass/drive, and the rest woods. I figured the 3901 would be a good mid range tractor to cover all of that. Not too big, not too small.

Right now I'll be doing snow and debris removal. I will want to take on the brush cutting of the fields, some trail construction and some small garden work on top of the snow removal. Once the junk and debris is done that task will likely become fallen tree removal and brush clearing.

All advice is welcome.

/ L3901 vs. MX4800 Advice Please #2  
I purchased the MX5800
I ordered the MX4800 over the L4701 because I will be doing no grass mowing with it and more utility work.
After I ordered the MX4800 I change my mind and upgraded for the extra HP
The MX4800 will have a bit more Lard in its back end for backhoe and dirt work than the L4701 will have and the Hydro. Pump pumps more GPM so operating a Front Loader or and Back implements that require Hydro. Flow will operated a bit quicker than the L4701 will.

I have absolutely no problems getting in or out of my MX. Lots of Room and I have never felt closed in when sitting in it to work. I can even turn around and do minor operations of my Backhoe while still sitting in the drivers seat.

Good Luck with what you choose to buy

/ L3901 vs. MX4800 Advice Please #3