Long 610 Oil Leaking/Spitting from Breather Tube

/ Long 610 Oil Leaking/Spitting from Breather Tube #1  

mat299

Tractor
Long 610
My dad has a Long 610 that sat up for about 6 months and now when we start it, oil spits/leaks out of the breather tube. It is hard to start and runs roughly. You can see the black spot on the grass below the breather tube, that’s about 60 seconds after start (and yes I know it’s a rough looking tractor but before this it worked great). I also have a video but hadn’t figured out how to post it. My thought is that the oil rings on at least one cylinder have given up, but I’m not a diesel mechanic.

I have two questions, first, is there anything else that might cause this? If not, is it advisable to pull the engine down, check the cylinders and re-ring it or should it get a full overhaul? It has a host of other issues and I’m considering whether I should put the money in it or move on. It’s a Long 610 (serial plate show 1582) and the engine s.p. indicates D-121.050.

Any thoughts or advise would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt

IMG_7550.JPG

/ Long 610 Oil Leaking/Spitting from Breather Tube
Here's a video of what is happening. It zooms in about 5 seconds into the video.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be much appreciated.

/ Long 610 Oil Leaking/Spitting from Breather Tube #3