Maple Syrup 'hobby' Production

/ Maple Syrup 'hobby' Production #1  

Kyle241

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota MX5100
Anyone make their own maple syrup? We are thinking of starting this year as we have a lot of large sugar maples on our property and a good number of them are close to the house and trail so fairly easy access. Just wondering how you evaporate, wood or propane? And if wood, how do you do it (unless of course you have a sugar shack). If we are going to do it this year, we need to get ready soon as I believe this year may be an early year the sap starts running. The temps up here are to supposed to be 1c, 2c, 3c and 7c this week!:eek:

If anyone has pics of your setup, that would be great!

Tks.

/ Maple Syrup 'hobby' Production #2  
I've been fooling around with it for a few years, just for fun.

Last year I made over a gallon from just two trees, 5 pails. this year the sap is flowing already but I'm not collecting it, as I have no way to store it long enough to make it worth boiling.

Last year we had 4 foot snow banks to keep the sap cool/ fresh for a few days while I accumulated enough. this year it's freezing at night but the days are mid 40's and sunny no snow at all for my red neck refrigerator.

I do it on open wood flame, burning mostly red oak, with shallow pans, my way does make a little smoke flavor to the syrup, but no one complains.

My way takes a good 4-6 hours to make 2 quarts of syrup, but it's worth it as a hobby and plus we love to eat it.

Good luck,

JB

Attachments

• DSC04135.jpg
    DSC04135.jpg
    735.8 KB · Views: 1,003
  • DSC04137.jpg
    DSC04137.jpg
    539.1 KB · Views: 492
  • DSCN3498.JPG
    DSCN3498.JPG
    984.6 KB · Views: 371
   / Maple Syrup 'hobby' Production #3