Need advice on building covered parking for my tractor and implements

/ Need advice on building covered parking for my tractor and implements #1  

rbstern

Platinum Member
Tractor
LS MT225E, Yanmar 2210
Recently purchased a Yanmar 2210, a 4' rotary cutter, and a 5' box blade. I'm currently parking out in the weather due to a lack of covered space for them. I want to build a simple shelter. I've built stick-built sheds before, but for this project, I'm consideirng using poles, similar to an open carport, which I've never done before.

I'm thinking about a 16'x12' footprint for the shelter, minimum 7' head clearance, concrete footings, five or six 4x4 posts (corners and mid-length, possibly mid-length only at the rear). 2x6 for the beams. 2x6 at 24" OC for roof joists, Roof would be flat, sloped front to back, with 1/2" OSB and traditional roofing shingles.

I'm in north Georgia. Snow is not a regular event, but it can snow and accumulate here every once in a blue moon. That would be the only weight bearing issue for the roof.

If I span the entire 16' at the front of the shelter with 2x6, should I double them up or go to a 2x8? Also, do I need 4x6 or 6x6 posts for a light weight, low-loading situation like this?

Any feedback appreciated.

/ Need advice on building covered parking for my tractor and implements #2  
I had the same problem. I went 40 x 40 x with 14' clearance above the 7.5" thick concrete floor. It's an itch I just had to scratch.

Attachments

• DSC00943.jpg
    DSC00943.jpg
    527.1 KB · Views: 427
   / Need advice on building covered parking for my tractor and implements #3  
I would think twice about using OSB for the roof. It is very susceptible to moisture damage and weakening. If you use OSB make sure to orient it correctly . . . orienting its strength across the joists, not parallel with them.