Need help with Kubota KX040 FUEL PROBLEM

/ Need help with Kubota KX040 FUEL PROBLEM #1  

Sodo

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B-series & Mini Excavator
It won't run at full-power.
It stumbles and dies periodically (often).
I am able to work it lightly at about 1/3 throttle, but whenever the control system pours the coal to it, it stumbles and often quits.
When not stumbling, the engine is perfectly smooth.
I'm not a diesel mechanic but I may be on the path to becoming one (just for this machine). ;)
Fuel filter looks recent. Poured it out into a pan and no sediment appeared.
Air filter is recent (looks new too).
This problem is on-going for years, Kubota dealer unable to fix it.
Kubota dealer replaced the injectors at about 400 hours which did not eliminate the problem, which has become much more frequent.
I think possibly they have a harder time identifying the problem because the Kubota dealer can't dig with it.

2016 KX040-4, 1400 hrs, 9800 lbs

Not my machine. Owner is letting me borrow it to dig at my place in hopes I might find the problem and he knows I'm a persistent sob.
He needs to lend it to a genuine diesel mechanic, but that opportunity has not arisen.
But I'm happy to have it here even if I have to run it at 1/3 throttle.

=========

There's an air bleeder valve at the top of the fuel filter block.
Opening it often ejects some air.
I put a clear hose onto it and eject into a fuel can, and eject air, until it's fully clear of air.
But later the problem returns and I check the ejector valve and there's air bubbles in the fuel stream.
It acts (to me) like there's a candy wrapper in the tank that periodically gets sucked onto the inlet. Then it stumbles, the machine lurches, and the wrapper washes away, clearing the inlet.

What I've done:
Clean water separator. It shows no air bubbles in the visible part. It has a new o-ring.