Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Normand Hybrid and R4 Traction

/ Normand Hybrid and R4 Traction #1  

MBJones

Tractor
John Deere 3520
I wanted to post this somewhere other than my intro so more folks could find it when searching.

I've searched forums and dealerships for answers to various technical questions prior to purchasing or making mods. There is a lot of misinformation or lack of accurate information on certain topics, so I've joined in order to share my experiences. I'm a degreed mechanical engineer with 35 years experience in new product design and manufacture. Recently I purchased a green tractor and a Normand Hybrid blower and experienced traction issues with R4s. So here is a summary of my experiences.

I grooved my tires with a pattern that would keep the snow captured within the rubber. If the snow is allowed to dynamically extrude out of the grooves, its adhesion to the snow on the ground is compromised since it is always on the move, breaking the mechanical snow bond. Car tires are different since water and snow need to be allowed to leave the tread in order to avoid hydroplaning. Tractors don't have the same requirement. My grooving was initially conservative and I saw much improvement in traction. As I added more grooves I noticed a proportional improvement of traction in snow. Once happy with the snow traction, I found the ice traction lacking. I added sipes to the front and rear tires which helped dramatically on the ice.