Power Rake Project

/ Power Rake Project #1  

kruszert

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kioti DK 35
I am just getting started putting a parts list together to make a power rake similar to a harley rake or scape rake by ATI. After pricing used ones I realized I couldn't justify or afford the real thing but I think I can build one that will work.

I have been through past posts by Spudland Dave and Leveller and am planning on making something similar - - - if you guys are out there I would appreciate an update - - anything you would change? Speeds turned out okay? Any problems with the pivot set up? Would you change the size of the teeth? I am planning on using a rear pipe roller rather than gauge wheels similar to the scape rake hoping to flatten the surface a little - - see any problems with this?

The plan so far is to use 60-2 chain and sprockets, 6" pipe and make the frame using 8" channel sides and a box of 8" channel for the cross member. Nothing special about these materials except that I have them.

Finding a 2:1 gearbox is becoming a challange and I may use a 1:1 gearbox and reduce further using the chain sprockets.

Any help/suggestions would be appreciated,
Reggie

/ Power Rake Project #2  
Your plans sound good... Personally I wouldnt change anything, have a bunch of hours on it now and about the only thing I can say is I'm glad I built it, by far the best attachment a person could use for landscaping.

I'd reccomend finding a 2:1 box if you can...

Actually...thinking about it, the one thing I would change (and am working on) is making the gauge wheels hydraulically adjustable from the cab. Right now I change it with the HTL, which works, but IMO it would be slicker with hydraulic gauge wheels like Harley has on some of the 7' units...

/ Power Rake Project
Thanks for the reply - - I had given up on any additional feedback since the post had gone to page 3 with no response.

The design changes a little as materials become available. I am using a