PTO Generator

/ PTO Generator #1  

fpc

I'm thinking of getting a PTO generator for back up power to my home. I'd be connecting it to my 2210. It seems like the 2210's HP rating will drive a 7 to 11KW unit. These seem to run (with trailer and shaft) about $1500 to $1800. The advantage of a PTO generator over a stand alone unit is that you get a lot more juice for the buck. Anybody have any experiences with PTO generators for the 2210?

/ PTO Generator #2  
I've no direct experience but, done lots of investigation.

Unless you have lots of multiple hour power outages, the time it takes to (disconnect what ever is already on the tractor and) hook up a PTO unit by flash light will keep you from doing it real frequently.

I've lost the URL to the government study into why so many mid-west farmers had electrical/electronic equipment failures after flooding caused power outages several years ago. But the upshot of it was that the farmers used PTO generators running at the wrong line frequency and burned out the equipment. [Conjecture by me follows.] Probably because they ran the units too slow. You need a 540 RPM PTO speed to get 60 Hz power. 540 RPM is usually obtained at a higher engine speed that most of us are comfortable with letting our tractors run for a major portion of a day.

Seems to me that PTO power is more suitable for use as a portable power source away from the reach of an extension cord.

If you do choose to use a PTO generator make sure to get a frequency meter with the instrumentation package. Underfrequency is a killer of motors; in referigerators, forced air heating, etc. Except for some clocks, which won't keep proper time, couple of Hz off is likely not going to hurt short term, but, 10% off will likely cause problems. It's a heat problem, so the longer device operates at an off frequency the greater the chance of damage.

Dave

/ PTO Generator #3