rainwater collection

/ rainwater collection #1  

mikim

Veteran Member
Tractor
NH TC45
I want to collect water off the roof of my metal barn ...and in looking for poly tanks I'm finding the above ground tanks are 1/2 the price of below ground. The above ground ones I've looked at are heavy duty ....thick ...so can somebody tell me why does a buried tank have to have ribs and why can't these above ground tanks be buried? I'm obviously no engineer...but for 1/2 the money - I'm wondering about taking a chance....maybe just bury it 1/2 deep....(I need the clearance for the rain water piping)

/ rainwater collection #2  
I'm no engineer nor do I play one on TV but my guess is that the ribs are there to provide strength to keep the earth from collapsing your container over time. Pressure will come from the sides as well as the top if buried.

/ rainwater collection #3  
Keep us posted - I have two barns and I am interested in doing the same thing.

Barry

/ rainwater collection #5  
as mentioned the earth will squish the un-ribbed tanks flat, over time, (if it stays 100% full it will take longer to squish it but result will be similar.) if you are in a sandy soil it will squish faster and if clay longer depending on how you place & compact the soil and when back filling tank would need to be FULL and slightly pressurized to kep earth in place.
one other option is to dig a CLOSE fitting hole lower tank into hole center up and fill with water, then pour concrete in smaller lifts to provide support for the tanks. I did this for some small catch basins I made out of 55 gallon drums. used a 3pt crete mixer and made smaller batches and didn't vibrate the crete in as that could make it FLOAT out. same as if the tank is 1/2 full and ground water rises it could cause the tank to FLOAT up and or crush in the sides...

Mark M

/ rainwater collection #6