Right To Repair

/ Right To Repair
Some interesting comments from John Deere's chief technology officer;
John Deere turned tractors into computers — what’s next?

All the best,

Peter
I glommed through the first half of the article (morning was a long time ago today); interesting read, I will be going back through it in detail.

My tired reaction (often trustworthy)....... reminds me of the multi-decade cycle we've been through with cell phones..... took a while to see that we (the customer) are the product, not the phone....

Next thought.... Who owns the Data.... I've been asking that for 30 years, and it's getting more relevant (or irrelevant, depending on your mindset) every year.

(Not directly related to JD, but concerning data-harvesting.... stumbled across this by accident today, leaving work. Search Settings on an Android phone for Wi-fi Scanning - you'll find 2 sub-level switches BELOW the Wifi Off level, that allows system apps to harvest Wifi and Bluetooth data ANY time.)

I will go back through that article in detail, at least once. I'm interested to see what he says directly about the service war going on.

I know something about how difficult it is getting a competent diesel mechanic for hire today. Small wonder old tractor prices are going through the roof.

Planting through Harvesting..... not a lot of time left, to get a Masters in CompSci, just to service a combine.....

Rgds, D.

/ Right To Repair
   / Right To Repair #8  
JD's next step is to refuse to provide parts, like Apple currently has started doing.

And then 3rd party companies open up shop to support you. Seen this in Ag products already.

/ Right To Repair #9  
I know something about how difficult it is getting a competent diesel mechanic for hire today. Small wonder old tractor prices are going through the roof.

Planting through Harvesting..... not a lot of time left, to get a Masters in CompSci, just to service a combine.....

Rgds, D.