Rivet setting on a sickle bar mower

/ Rivet setting on a sickle bar mower #1  

oddodaoddo

Tractor
None
Hello, I am new to haying. I bought a used TSK Superior (a.k.a. Gribaldi 2401) 7ft sickle bar mower (I have a 1970 Massey 150 to run it with). Both the guard bar and the cutter bar on this mower are mobile, powered by separate power heads that move opposite to each other. Here is where I get parts from - has a diagram of the "old style" mower that I own): Gribaldi:Sickle Bar Mower:Series GS241 Superior:GS241 Cutter Bar-Old Style

After I bought the mower, it lost two guard teeth while mowing for the first time. They attach via rivets to the power head - I ordered the rivets and the new teeth from the manufacturer.

However, being new to this, I am not sure how to set the rivets. I bought one of those tungsten bucking bars to put on one end of the rivet and just used a sledge hammer on the other end of it, to flatten it. However, when I start mowing, after 15-20 minutes of running through a field, the rivets just pop/break.

How is this done properly? What tool(s) do I need? I am attaching a photo of the setup. Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_0393.JPG
    IMG_0393.JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 283
   / Rivet setting on a sickle bar mower
Oh wow, thank you so much!!!!!

/ Rivet setting on a sickle bar mower #4  
I always just used a vice and a ball peen hammer. It worked for me.

/ Rivet setting on a sickle bar mower #5  
Have you considered utilizing bolts designed to attach sickle head/sections in lieu of rivets?

/ Rivet setting on a sickle bar mower
Have you considered utilizing bolts designed to attach sickle head/sections in lieu of rivets?