Sad day for this farmer

/ Sad day for this farmer #2  
A sad but too often heard story. Somebody thought they could make a go with this land - its unfortunate that the farmer and his family could not change with the times and continue......... This story is being heard all across the country.

/ Sad day for this farmer #3  
I'll admit that I, like most people, I guess, like for prices on all groceries to stay low. But having grown up raising our own chickens and hogs, and milking our own cow when I was kid, I've never understood how milk and egg prices stay as low as they are. It seems that you have to be a huge company with lots of money to just get started in any business these days.

/ Sad day for this farmer #4  

Are you located in Culpeper County?

I worked as a farm mortgage field representative for a life insurance company from May 1972 to March 1974 (after I finished my BS and before I started grad school) and was stationed in Culpeper.

The link says there are now only seven dairy farms in the county. That's quite a decline from the number in the early 1970s. At that time, several farmers had consolidated their milking operations at a facility at Brandy Station. Is that operation still in business?

Steve

/ Sad day for this farmer #5  
It's now down to $14 a hundred with an new added $50 pickup fee on top of the mileage hauling, none of the under 500 cow dairys in this area will last much longer, the 3-4000 cow operations will last longer because the banks don't know what to do with them so they keep lending them money, many are multi millions in debt. :censored::smiley_aafz:

/ Sad day for this farmer #6  
I certainly sympathize with your dilemma Widefat...