Shocks on a Ranger 800 Crew.

/ Shocks on a Ranger 800 Crew. #1  

BufordBoone

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L5740 & M7060
This may sound like a stupid question but how do you know when your shocks are bad?

My 2013 800 Ranger Crew frequently sounds like it bottoms out when one of the front tires crosses a depression. Sounds like the tire hits but I can't see any evidence of that.

I tried rocking the front up and down but can't make it bottom out. The little rubber cushion on the shocks has deteriorated and pretty much is gone.

I really appreciate this machine and would like to get more years out of it as I use it a lot.

Thanks, in advance.

/ Shocks on a Ranger 800 Crew. #2  
I'm no pro but I believe your springs, not the shocks, might be weak if you are bottoming out to much. This was what I found when I did a search of your machine.

Attachments

• zbroz-custom-x0-ifp-exit-series-shocks-set-of-4-2009-14-full-size-polaris-ranger-xp-800-and-2016.jpg
    zbroz-custom-x0-ifp-exit-series-shocks-set-of-4-2009-14-full-size-polaris-ranger-xp-800-and-2016.jpg
    56.2 KB · Views: 125
   / Shocks on a Ranger 800 Crew. #3  
Have someone drive your vehicle on a few different types of roads and at low and high speeds while watching the tire movements one side at a time. Bad shocks can be revealed by excess wheel movement and even continuous vertical motion or shimmy (vertical + toe changes), although a wheel imbalance causes unusual vibration, too. Tire cupping is another indicator of bad shocks if you know your ball joints are good.

The classic aftermarket shock trick (besides 1 size fits all), is to put a LOT of low speed damping in the shocks to let you 'know' that you made a change, but the extra loads almost always leads to worn or broken suspension and frame parts.