Small tractor advice

/ Small tractor advice #1  

bdog

Elite Member
Tractor
John Deere 6130M
I have no experience with the subcompacts. I have a full size farm tractor and a skid steer that I do virtually everything on my acreage with. I am doing a lot of stuff around my house in areas with a nice lawn. I have 6 gates so I can fit a lot back there but am worried about tearing up the grass, rutting, etc. I really need no implements other than a FEL to move materials. Rock for landscaping, sand for leveling the lawn, etc. Virtually all I envision using it for is moving materials into sensitive areas. I mow these areas with a reel mower and have a zero turn for other areas. No need for a mower on it. Any recommendations? I assume I need something with turf tires?

I contemplated renting but many of things are drug out over a period of time due to my work schedule so buying seems to make more sense. The subcompacts seem cheap enough.

/ Small tractor advice #2  
I personally would look at smaller compacts, like 25 hp Kubota or JD. The small bucket on the Kubota BX frustrated me at times. I now own a JD 2025R and am much happier with it.

/ Small tractor advice #4  
What kind of payload are you anticipating for the loader?

I have a BX 23 and Deere 110 plus L3800 in the family...

The BX continues to amaze me but it is limited.

My friend has a gator with dump bed and turf tires... it is his hauling machine and easy on the turf.

/ Small tractor advice #5  
Our little PowerTrac PT425 is very gentle on lawns. Fits through a 4' gate. Great for moving material like mulch, sand, rock, etc... from point A to point B. Much faster than a traditional tractor.

PowerTrac makes smaller HP models as well as larger. Might be worth a look.

Power Trac

/ Small tractor advice #6  
I really need no implements other than a FEL to move materials. Rock for landscaping, sand for leveling the lawn, etc. Virtually all I envision using it for is moving materials into sensitive areas.