Snow blowing Better with SSL or tractor?

/ Snow blowing Better with SSL or tractor? #1  

Doc_Bob

Elite Member
Tractor
2003 NH TN70A
I do not want to start a fight. But, I am new to SSL. My neighbor wants me to get a SSL for snow blowing, moving dirt, and blading. He states they are much better than any tractor doing these jobs. He tells me traction would be fine (when compared to a tractor with R1) and having the snow-blower in front (with the SSL) is much nicer than a PTO driven snow-blower on a tractor.

I have a lot of time using a New Holland TN 70A with bucket and a rear mounted PTO driven double augur, two stage 84 inch blower. I have no experience with a SSL and a fronted mounted SB.

So I come to you at TBN to help me learn the pros and cons. What do you suggest?

Thank you, Doc

/ Snow blowing Better with SSL or tractor? #5  
After using a rear-mounted pto blower on an open station tractor and then moving to a SSL with blower, I'll take the SSL any day of the week for that job, assuming about 50 or 60 hp AT THE BLOWER is adequate. If the job requires much more than that, a high hp tractor is the only reasonable solution because the SSL lacks hydraulic capability above that amount. Excellent visibility without straining your neck, excellent maneuerability and speed control, complete comfort in a heated cab and full hydraulic control at your finger tips makes the SSL a pleasure to use for snowblowing. Plus no shear pins to be bothered with. Not cheap however.

bobcatsb2.jpg

/ Snow blowing Better with SSL or tractor?