Stuck between a farm pro and a JD?

/ Stuck between a farm pro and a JD? #1  

kjsayers

I am very new to the whole tractor scene. I bought a home with some land a few months ago so I need a small tractor. I am enticed by the Farm Pro 2420. A dealer a few hours away has an offer of one with turf tires, 4' bush hog, 5' finish mower and a 16' trailer for $5895. Or, my local JD dealer has a new 2210 with a 5' belly mower for 10K and a used 755 no attachments for $6950. I know JD has the reputation and would be conveint if I need service. But i still cannot get the Farm pro deal out of my head. What are some opinions. BTW i need to mow 2 finished ac. and 5 field ac.

/ Stuck between a farm pro and a JD? #2  
Those two JD models are sized about right for 7 acres, especially if your activity is limited to mowing.

The FarmPro price you listed strongly suggests the two mowers are Chinese. The finish mower has a reputation for flat tires and shredded belts. The rotary cutter is reported to howl like a banshee.

I'd get a 2nd quote from the FP dealer, one that includes mower upgrades. THEN see if it still looks better than the JD prices.

//greg//

/ Stuck between a farm pro and a JD?
What sort of upgrades should I ask for?

/ Stuck between a farm pro and a JD? #4  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( What sort of upgrades should I ask for? )</font>

Well, if he sells them - a finish mower and a rotary cutter that aren't made in China. Poke around the Chinese tractor forums for a while, use search terms that are associated with Chinese implements. I think you'll find the vast majority of Chinese tractor owners anywhere between reasonably and greatly satisfied with their tractors. A lot of them bought the whole ticket, and it's from them I've picked up an undercurrent of dissatisfaction with Chinese implements; most commonly finish mowers, rotary cutters, backhoes, and FELs - generally in that order.