Synthetic oil in engines with no oil filter?

/ Synthetic oil in engines with no oil filter? #1  

MNBobcat

Platinum Member
My son in-law claims that you shouldn't run synthetic oil in any engine that does not have an oil filter. I can understand that, possibly, if someone were letting the engine run way longer than the recommended oil change. Because with no filter you would have metal particles circulating and so even with synthetic you would need to change it frequently. Beyond that, I can think of no reason not to run synthetic as long as the synthetic has all the certifications for the engine.

Anyone know anything about that? I didn't find anything specific via google or by searching here. I think he is wrong.

Thanks!

/ Synthetic oil in engines with no oil filter? #2  
I've been running amsoil 10w30 in my 1977 sears 16/6 for over 10 years, no filter & change it in the fall. Same goes for the push mower & generator.

/ Synthetic oil in engines with no oil filter? #3  
I have never heard anything about that on the several forums that i frequent daily.. this is even after TONS of generator forums right after the derecho and a lot of discussions regarding the best oil and frequency of changes

Brian

/ Synthetic oil in engines with no oil filter? #4  
Your son-in-law is misinformed. Synthetic oil lubricates critical engine components better, with or without an oil filter.

/ Synthetic oil in engines with no oil filter? #5  
Where I bought my Honda mower in 1989, they sell Opti4 oil, a synthetic, and that's what they recommend, and I use, no problems.

/ Synthetic oil in engines with no oil filter? #6