Mowing TC35DA Weak PTO

/ TC35DA Weak PTO #1  

DOtt

Tractor
2006 TC35DA
I was out mowing grass today with a 72" rear finish mower and I think I have a problem. This is only the second time I've gotten to use the mower and the tractor's PTO as I purchased both last fall. The first time mowing I noticed that the mower would slow down but the engine did not. My first thought was the belt on the mower is slipping as it is a used mower. I slowed my speed and finished mowing without much trouble. As I was mowing deeper grass today I decided to pay more attention to what was happening at the mower and noticed that the PTO shaft was slowing with the mower but the engine is not. The PTO never stalled completely. I am relatively new to tractor ownership but it seems to me that if I put enough load on the PTO to slow it down I should be bogging the engine. And the little bit of grass I was cutting should have been easy to handle.

I've done a little looking around and I've read about some tractors having adjustments for the PTO but they all seemed to be for gear drive tractors and mine is a hydrostatic. I don't completely understand all the inner workings of the PTO in a hydrostatic transmission but I would guess that my problem will most likely require spending a lot of money, time, or both to replace the worn components. What could be going bad? Is there any adjustments that I am unaware of?

Any and all thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

/ TC35DA Weak PTO #2  
I only have gear tractors, so not familiar with hydros. Do you have a slip clutch on the mower or a shear pin?

/ TC35DA Weak PTO