Thanks for everything, but...

/ Thanks for everything, but... #1  

Genereynolds

Tractor
Alas, none
Guys,

I've been studying this forum for about two years now so that when I got my "place in the country" I would know which tractor to get, and I'm here to tell you I was really looking forward to getting one.

I got as close as buying five undeveloped acres which I worked for a year, cutting trees, clearing, and paying a guy to brush hog it for me several times. Then I had to dump the property because of drainage problems, but I continued to learn about tractors, and, JimBinMI notwithstanding, had decided on an orange B2710 when the time came.

End of story... I've purchased seven acres with a three-year old house, 3/4 acre stocked pond, no pasture, all lawn landscaped with many trees. I no longer need a tractor; a ZTR mower will be much more practical.

I'm buying an Exmark 48" 19 hp commercial mower. I apologize to you all but it's faster and much more agile than a tractor, and since I had budgeted for a B2710 it'll be considerably cheaper, but I'll bet it sure won't be as much fun.

I want to thank all of you, my mentors, with special recognition to Bird, MChalkey, PaulB, and JimBinMI for the two year course of study in compact tractors, lubricants, and rural living in general. I sure can talk a good line now, especially when the listener doesn't own a tractor.

Thanks,
Gene

/ Thanks for everything, but... #2  
Gene, I agree with you. Next spring I plan on buying a ZTR to mow. Tractors do lots of things well and when you need one there is no substitute but if your primary function is mowing a good commercial grade ZTR will outperform a tractor hands down for about half the price.

/ Thanks for everything, but... #3