Tracked Skid Steers - Good, Better, Best??

/ Tracked Skid Steers - Good, Better, Best?? #1  

burnetma

Gold Member
Tractor
JD 5420 MFWD 541 FEL JD X758
I am just beginning my journey towards a tracked skid steer for land clearing (mulcher, dozer blade, loader, backhoe) and fence building (auger & pounder). Low ground pressure is important to me, thus I think a wheeled unit with tracks is not the best option, but I would like to hear what you think.

I have been reading the posts here and it seems that a lot of people hold the ASV RC100 in high regard. I do not want to start a brand war here, but are they the best for this type of application? Every machine has a weakness. What is the RC100's weak link? I am also considering CAT, Deere and Taekuchi. Any thing I should look out for with these units?

Finally, what is the track life and under carriage rebuild cost for these machines.

Thank you in advance,
Mark

/ Tracked Skid Steers - Good, Better, Best?? #2  
I wish I had more info, but I don't. I am not a fan of MB but these videos are quite entertaining.
MB Tractor & Equipment

/ Tracked Skid Steers - Good, Better, Best?? #3  
Hey Mark, I just happen to be one of those RC-100 owners. I'll give you the facts about what I found when I was shopping and then you can figure out what machine fits your bill.
1.I believe bobcat, taekuchi,all others except for cat run the same track system, I'm not talking performance or anything else for these all will have pretty much the same ground pressure. As for cat and asv they have the same 18" wide tracks and 6' of it on the ground. Lightest psi I think.
2.The asv's and I'm pretty sure the cat's too have a suspension. Not the tracks themselves but between the track system and the tractor. This will really show if you could [and I strongly suggest] you do a test drive. The test drive is what sold me.