Tractor weight on soft ground

/ Tractor weight on soft ground #1  

sparkyjohn

Tractor
Kioti CX2510
I have a Kioti CX2510 with loaded rear tires. It came with a FEL as well. I built a compact 400lb rear ballast. My land is overgrown farm land, about a foot of black dirt then mostly clay. This time of year the water table is close to the surface so the ground is soft but held together with the overgrown grasses and trees. My question is, will i do better with more weight, keeping my FEL on and rear ballast or will i do better if i take these things off and lighten the tractor? Not worried about leaving ruts but just worried about getting stuck. I have the new R-14 tires. What is best? I'm new at this tractor stuff.

/ Tractor weight on soft ground #2  
You need ballast to compensate for lifting heavy things.
If you're not lifting heavy things with the loader, you don't need ballast.
I my tractor is typically un-ballasted for day-to-day chores; if I know something's going to be a heavy lift, I'll put the backhoe on (I've yet to build a specialized ballast).

/ Tractor weight on soft ground #3  
Weight does help improve traction. You will be able to go through more muck with a heavier tractor. However, when you get stuck you will really be stuck! Best to wait for things to dry out before risking it unless there is no other option.

/ Tractor weight on soft ground
You need ballast to compensate for lifting heavy things.
If you're not lifting heavy things with the loader, you don't need ballast.
I my tractor is typically un-ballasted for day-to-day chores; if I know something's going to be a heavy lift, I'll put the backhoe on (I've yet to build a specialized ballast).
Here is my ballast. $148 for the steel and $50 for some concrete and fiberboard. My 3 point lifts 1200lb so i can still use this to move a trailer with under 800lb tongue weight. Nice and compact.

Attachments

• ballast 001.JPG
    ballast 001.JPG
    5.9 MB · Views: 228
  • ballast 003.JPG