Trencher Plans

/ Trencher Plans #1  

dourobob

Platinum Member
Tractor
Wheel Horse 522xi
I'm fairly sure I saw a discussion on this a while ago but I have not been able to find it using the search.
trencher1.jpg

Has anyone seen the plans for the Trencher Model 103 from CADPLANS? I am a very beginning welder and I would like to try to build something like this as my first project.

Does anyone know if there are there any other sources of plans for similar and/or more simple units.

Thanks
Bob

/ Trencher Plans #2  
Can't help with your question but I'm curious about your intended use. Is this for laying cable or pipe? I am planning on setting up a drip irrigation system for a Saskatoon orchard.

/ Trencher Plans
I was hopeful that it might be able to be used for both. If the tube was large enough to accommodate 1/2" to perhaps 3/4" pipe it could do the irrigations function as well as lay wire with a protective sheath. Hope the ripper part could go down about 2 feet.

Does anyone know if these specs are realistic?
Bob

/ Trencher Plans #4  
Hi
this was posted here laying wire/pipe afew weeks ago that might help.

Charlie

/ Trencher Plans
Charlie
Thank you so much - I suspected there was a more straightforward and practical way to do this - the thread and the photos are excellent!!

Bob

/ Trencher Plans #6  
For the poly irrigation pipe, I have also had good luck "pulling" it using a subsoiler instead of trying to lay it as shown in the other thread.

The procedure is dig a hole where you want to start. Run the subsoiler along the intended path at least once to clear any roots or rocks. You may need to lift if here and there to pull/cut roots or dislodge rocks.