Veteran's Day

/ Veteran's Day #1  

Mike_Dumond

Gold Member
Tractor
B6100D Kubota
Veteran\'s Day

Veterans Day is always a solemn occasion to reflect on and to show our gratitude for those who have fought to preserve the freedoms all Americans enjoy today.

This day was established after World War I to pay tribute to those who served in that Great War. In 1954, the day's significance was expanded to honor all the soldiers, Sailors, airmen, Marines, Coastguardsmen, and merchant marines who have worn our nation's uniform. By pausing to remember, we recognize the many diverse and difficult circumstances that our veterans have faced. However, no matter what the time or the uniform, they are united by the same ideals: life and liberty, peace and prosperity, service and sacrifice.

/ Veteran's Day #2  
Re: Veteran\'s Day

Hi mike
Here in Austalia we have the same. I am no expert on this matter but we call it remembrance day. On this day 11/11 at 11am the nation stops for a minutes silence reflecting on the lives lost at war. this time and date marks the end off world war 1

/ Veteran's Day #3  

Mike -- Thanks. What a difference a few decades makes! It was tough coming home from SE Asia in the 70s to the protests and accusations...

Vin -- I'll always have a special place in my heart for Aussies. My ship pulled into an Australian port on an anniversary of the Battle of the Coral Sea. Never been treated better in my life! Thanks!

Pete

/ Veteran's Day #4  

Amen to honoring our veterans. I have always felt nothing but respect for those who served.
But until I saw the movies "Saving Private Ryan", "Band Of Brothers", and "We Were Soldiers" and hearing the comments of the veterans saying "yes that's how it was", I did not fully realize how much those guys had to endure.